PNR Status Checker

Enter you PNR Number

You will find the 10 Digit number on the top left corner of the printed ticket without any dashes (e.g. 9876543210)

Recently Checked:

    *Please Note that in case the Final Charts have not been prepared, the Current Status might upgrade/downgrade at a later stage.

    Get this PNR checker right on your desktop with our browser extension:

    Frequently Asked Questions

    1. Checking your PNR status on Tatkal For Sure is insanely easy. All you have to do is enter your PNR number in the search bar. It will give you your PNR status.

      Other options to check your PNR number are as follows:

      • On official websites of IRCTC: and IRCTC Website
      • Current reservation status check through SMS,
        • Send the following message to 139. PNR Example: PNR 0123456789
        • Send the following message to 5676747. PNR Example: PNR 0123456789
      • GPRS Enabled Phones : If you have an active GPRS enabled phone, you can check your PNR status by connecting to the internet. Browse Indian Railways site at and insert your PNR number on the ‘Check PNR' tab. Your PNR status will be displayed on the screen.
      • Current reservation status check through call. Dial 139 on your phone and follow the instructions.
      • Mobile applications
      • Railway enquiry counters at railway stations
      • Final reservation charts pasted on the notice boards railway platforms
    2. Final reservation charts are prepared two or three hours prior to train departure time. These charts are pasted on the notice board or railway station platforms and also on coaches. People can check these charts and train between stations to check whether the ticket is confirmed or not.

    3. All passengers' information is stored on IRCTC's database called The Centre of Railway Information Systems (CRIS). When you book a ticket from IRCTC website or through any other portal like Tatkal For Sure after checking the live train status , CRIS creates a 10-digit PNR status number that is associated with all your travel details.

    4. PNR number is usually printed at the top left corner of your printed ticket (bought from the booking window). In E-tickets (tickets booked online), your PNR number is mentioned at the top in a separate cell.

    5. No. PNR number is allotted only to reserved tickets.

    6. Here's the list of all PNR status codes:

      • CNF/Confirmed: Confirmed Booking
      • RAC: Reservation Against Cancellation. You will get a seat if someone cancels his/her ticket.
      • WL ##: Waitlist. Your ticket has not been confirmed
      • CK ##: Tatkal (Priority) Booking
      • CKWL ##: Tatkal Waiting List
      • RLWL: Remote Location Waiting List
      • RLGN: Remote Location General Waiting List
      • GNWL ##: General Waiting List. This ticket is issued when the Source station of the passenger is the Source station of the train or one of the stations near to it.
      • RQWL: Request Waiting List
      • PQWL: Pooled Quota Waiting List
      • RSWL: Roadside Station Waiting List
      • REGRET/WL: No More Booking Permitted
      • CAN/MOD: Ticket is Cancelled or Modified
      • Released: Ticket not confirmed in the given berth, but you've been provided an alternative berth.

      Please note: ‘##' denotes a number

    7. No. It is not possible. It is a criminal offence in India.

    8. The following are the types of Indian Railways trains:

      • Metro Trains: Metro trains run in few metro cities in India such as Mumbai, Delhi, Kolkata, and Bangalore. Metro rail tickets do not generate PNR number, as one can't reserve a seat in these trains.
      • Suburban Locals: Suburban local trains only run in a few cities in India like Mumbai, Kolkata, and Chennai. Even for these trains, you can't reserve seats in advance. Hence PNR numbers are not generated for both slow and fast locals.
      • Passenger Trains: Passenger trains are classified into fast passenger trains and slow passenger trains. You can't reserve tickets for any of these trains, hence PNR number is not generated.
      • Express andSuper-fast Express : These trains run across long distances and you can reserve tickets to travel in these trains. And since tickets can be reserved, PNR number is generated to identify the passenger.
      • Shatabdi andJanshatabdi Express Trains : These are high-speed trains that do not have sleeper coaches. They have only seats for seating. The primary difference between a Shatabdi and Janshatabdi trains is that Janshatabdi trains have both AC and non-AC coaches whereas Shatabdi trains are fully air-conditioned. You can reserve seats for these trains and hence PNR number is generated upon booking.
      • Garib Rath: These trains have AC tier-3 coaches and the price of the ticket is considerably lower compared to other air-conditioned trains. You can book tickets for these and PNR number is generated upon booking.
      • Rajdhani Express: Rajdhani Express trains are fully air-conditioned trains. These are high-priority trains and run on scheduled time. You can book tickets for these trains and PNR number is generated upon booking.
      • Duranto Express: Duranto Express trains were recently started by Indian Railways. These are source-to-destination trains, meaning they don't stop on any station that comes on their route. You can book tickets for these trains and PNR number is generated upon booking.
    9. Here's the list of abbreviations and acronyms of Indian Railways:

      TermFull Form
      PNRPassenger Name Record
      WLWaiting List
      RACReservation Against Cancellation
      SLSleeper Class
      3AAC 3 Tier
      3EAC 3 Tier Economy
      2SSecond Sitting
      FCFirst Class
      2AAC 2-Tier Sleeper
      1AFirst Class AC
      GNGeneral Quota
      DFDefence Quota
      CKTatkal Quota
      SSTraveling Alone Female Quota (Above 45 Years) / Senior Citizen Quota
      LDLadies Quota
      HPPhysically Handicapped Quota
    10. There are two types of Indian Railways tickets:

      • E-Ticket: Electronic ticket is booked through IRCTC website. You can take a printout of this ticket and show it to the TTE with your authentic passenger ID.
      • I-Ticket: I-Tickets are booked at the railway reservation counter in railway stations. You can also book I-Tickets through IRCTC website and get them delivered to your doorstep through courier.
    11. Yes. You can take the reprint of your ticket on IRCTC website. Click on ‘print' and enter your PNR to take the printout.